Lith Print, Fomatone Nature 532 Paper

This week I tried lith printing for the first time. I’ve had the Moersch Easy Lith kit knocking around on the shelf for a while and with the home darkroom up and running it finally made it out of the packet. It was easier than I thought it would be and if you are prepared to accept the variation in results it is also fun. As a starting point I went for the middle ground: dilution A & B 20 ml of each and adding water to make 1 litre of developing solution. I didn’t do a test strip, I just guessed that I ususally expose a 7×7 print for c 22 seconds. I doubled it and added a bit on for good measure to make 50 seconds. Everything I’ve read on lith printing makes me feel that approximations are OK. The results never repeat themselves and it is more important to judge the snatch point than the precise exposure time.

The first print (below) came out fairly smooth and less ‘lithy’ than the later ones. Apparently that’s common, the developer needs a few prints through it to get it going. The Fomatone Nature 532 was getting good recommendations as a lith paper via Tim Rudman’s book and website, as well as from Silverprint.

I like the process and think it has a lot of scope. Small doses perhaps? It might make normal printing seem a bit dull!

Lith Print, Fomatone Nature 532 Paper

