Beath Cemetery

 

I had dropped the boys at their judo class and had the best part of an hour to kill. Right next to the school in Cowdenbeath lies the cemetery. One of the things I love about photographing in snow is the new lines that emerge in the landscape, lines that you might not notice when things are green and grey. I used the time to try out the Fieldcam app for the iPad. It’s fun enough and has lots of ‘buttons’ and ‘switches’ that are meant to offer more manual control. But having taken the pictures I always return to the same point with digital images – that you do most of the work after the event. More so than with film, although accepting that you can do a lot after ‘the moment’ I still tend to imagine more about how the image will look before, or really as, I am taking it. Post-processing as it has become. So I tried out both Adobe PS express and Snapseed to see what I could make from this:

Beath2

 

I had taken quite a few pictures and as the light dimmed the quality of the images deteriorated into noisy grey mush. No surprise, film emulsions would have coped no better with handheld 1/15th second at dusk using a large camera. The main picture above is using Adobe PS. I then had a go in Snapseed using similar controls.

beath3

It has slightly less contrast. I prefer Snapseed’s border offerings but overall like it without as well. I am no expert so perhaps if I could add a very thin plain black border in PS Express then that would be good. It needs something to contain the whiteness but border selections aren’t very subtle.

Fieldcam is definitely worth a couple of pounds and it does have many advantages over the basic in-house camera with excellent focus and exposure settings, but to be honest I am not convinced with in-camera style apps as opposed to just using the iPad or iPhone camera and then using a processing app afterwards

